just some deliciousness first..
After a week of 4 midterms, I was so ready to go on the first trip that Emily and I actually planned ourselves instead of an ISA trip. We packed our bags beforehand and took them to class with us. At any other school it would probably be weird taking a suitcase into class, but here its completely normal! We got out at 6 pm, and began our weekend of public transportation by walking over to the tram in Plaza Nueva, which took us to the bus stop near Plaza Espana, and then took the bus to the airport. We made it to our flight in time, but found out our flight had been delayed 2 hours, so we didn't end up leaving Sevilla until 10 pm, and got to Barcelona around midnight. We took a bus to our hostel, which took 30 minutes. We checked in and went to our room, which we shared with 10 other people. People were sleeping in there so we could only turn on a small light to find unempty beds, lock up our luggage, and get ready to go out.
We were so happy that our friends from OSU, Madi and Chelsea, had called our hostel to tell us which club they were at because otherwise we had no way to call each other, since they don't have Spain phones. We got ready, went upstairs to the lounge while the hostel called us a cab. We got to the discoteca Shoko at 1:30-2 ish, not knowing if they would be there or not, but we walked in and we found them almost instantly! It was so crazy getting to see people we knew from back home, I almost forgot I was in Spain for a little bit! We had so much fun and got home around 4:30.
The next day we woke up at 8:30 to go to breakfast that the hostel served, and met 2 guys from Ireland that were traveling and were planning on running on a marathon on Sunday. After breakfast then went on a walking tour of Barrio Gotico at 10. It was nice getting to know the city and we met other people that were traveling/studying in Europe. We got to see churches, a cathedral, monuments, art, where Picasso studied, etc. After that, Emily and I went to the hotel where Madi and Chelsea were staying at, which was about 10000 times nicer than our humble hostel, and they generously let us shower there and get ready! We went to eat at a place that was recommended to us during our tour in the morning, and it was pretty delicious! We walked around the ports, las ramblas, and explored a little bit. After that, we hung out in their hotel and rested. We went to dinner with them and some other people from their program from OSU. It was their last night in Barcelona, so they all met up on the terrace after and hung out, talking about their trip. It was weird hearing them all talk about how it was over and how they would be going back home the next day when I still have a long time here! I was so glad that we got to meet up, even for the short amount of time. After the terrace, we went to a bar that had crazy trick shots! They lit them on fire, roasted marshmallows on them, one had pringles and hot sauce, some had whipped cream and chocolate, etc-there were hundreds to choose from! They had flights in the morning so we didn't stay out too late, and when we were leaving we met some other Americans that were in Spain teaching English, but we decided to call it a night and headed back to our hostel.
The next day we got up for breakfast and talked to the Irish guys again, and also met other people from Chile and Argentina, and we made plans to meet up with them later to hang out that night. After breakfast, we went to a place that Madi had recommended, Tibidabo, which required a lot of public transportation, but luckily they gave us a card for the next 2 days that we could use pretty much anything free. We took the metro to a bus and then cable-carred up to the top of a mountain, which had a Cathedral at the top as well as restaurants and an amusement park. We took lots of pictures and enjoyed the view of Barcelona! After that we took the metro to Sagrada Familia, which is a building designed by the architect Gaudi that had been under construction for 100 years and still wasn't finished. We had lunch/dinner at a pizza place right next to it called Pizza Emporio, and it was crazzzzzzzzy good! Today some new people were moving into our room, and we met people from Holland. It was crazy at one point in our room people were speaking English, Spanish, Dutch, and maybe Portuguese....so strange. Later we ended up finding our new friend from breakfast and hung out at the street really close to our hostel. Beatriz was from Chile and she wanted to practice her English, so she spoke to me in English while I was talking in Spanish. She taught me some phrases that were really popular in Chile. Cuatico = amazing, cachai = you know, and bakan = buenismo!! Ok now I need to share some Spanish expressions: Vale = Ok. Killo= a name for a friend (in sevilla only). que te cagas!!! = its the shiz!!! Que fuerte! = wow! and you can say it for a lot of things.
We got back to our hostel around the same time other people were getting home, so I didn't feel as bad being loud and waking people up.
Sunday morning we had to check out, so we got ready and left our luggage in a locked room in the hostel, and set out for the day with Josh, who was staying in our room and had been traveling through Europe since last fall. We walked around the city, saw a marathon, and went back over to Sagrada Familia to try to see if we could go inside, but the line to get in was way too long so we just decided to hang out outside and then went to lunch a couple blocks away. We had to take the metro to get to Sagrada Familia, and something very bad almost happened! We had been warned multiple times about pickpocketing in Barcelona, so I all weekend I had been very conscious to protect my purse and even had a dream one night that someone had stolen my purse. When we were getting on the metro, usually people get off, but for some reason at this stop nearly everybody stayed on and it was incredibly full. We didn't know if we could fit in at our door so we ran over to another one and cram our way in really fast because the doors were about to close. My purse had swung behind me and immediately I could feel someone grabbing for my purse. I turn around as soon as I could and the lady behind me already had my purse unzipped and my wallet in her hands, but I caught her just in time and grabbed it back and thankfully everything was still in there. I was so happy to get out of the metro and glad that she didn't actually take my wallet.
We had lunch at a Vietnamese restaurant a few streets away from Sagrada Familia, and then it was time to go back to our hostel and get our luggage to go home. We took the train to the airport and then a bus up to the terminal, and made it with plenty of time to spare. We rewarded ourselves with a McFlurry because it took tremendous exercise walking to the terminal!!!! Or so we thought. We landed in Sevilla at 7 and took a bus back to Plaza Espana and walked back to our house, and by that time it was time to turn around and go to church. Then we got back home and rested. Finally. We had dinner around 10, and had Paella with conejos...rabbit! And mama Rita shared with us some good news for next week (Semana Santa, spring break #1). Emily and I are going to Ibiza from Friday - Tuesday, and then our family is going to take us to their lake house with them from Wednesday - Sunday with the whole family! We will finally get to meet our host sister Marta! We were so excited and decided that since we are going to the beach we need to start a diet to lose 5 pounds in a week, but that pretty much was an epic fail when we got the chocolate out a minute later and chowed down. Oh well. Later I found out that my real family wants to take a trip to Boston when I am done in May yay!! Our lunch should be ready in an hourish so I'm gonna take a nap or read the Hunger Games that Madi lent to me! Hasta luego!